O! Newsletter #110

NL110

Damn, where could it be?

    I can't wrap my head around it, I've been looking for two hours now... When did I last use it? Anyway, I'm pretty sure I had it with me this morning, when I had that talk with Jean-Bernard about his son's higher education...
    Actually it all comes back to me now, it's exactly during the meeting on the new eco-designed packaging that I lost it. Yes, that has to be when it started. It's always the same, everytime someone talks to me about environmental issues, global warming, collapse of the biodiversity, imminent apocalypse... Boom, I suddenly lose it and find myself in the middle of a mediocre movie scenario, with a very clear schematic pattern of good guys, bad guys, the champions of the greater good eventually defeating the scary-looking forces of evil. It ain't so subtle, even quite binary, but it makes it all so much more simple, clear, comforting, a kind of manichean "just gotta" therapy to adress the current disorders we face. So the meeting went pretty well, quick and efficient. For this new packaging we just gotta use natural, biodegradable, environment-friendly, plastic-free materials (or with that new ethic bio-ethylen made from non-GMO banana skin in an autonomous Venezuelian village that looks great) and done it is, eco-conception exercise over. Bertrand even had the great idea of using "vegan leather" (sic) for the sticker and closing ribbon. Jacqueline and François, from marketing thought it was genius and had a great "storytelling impactance" (sic). "Vegan leather" has to be eco-friendly, right? By the way, Jacqueling has recently read a dithyrambic article about an "apple leather sofa", which is apparently a very efficient material to save the planet, and a very "positive-thinking customer experience" (sic)    .
    But the problem is... Now I do doubt. Are solutions that simple, have we grasped the real size of the problem, chosen the right approach? Have we not been abused by empty made-up words, which would deserve to be questioned, thought through, taken from a distance? Ah, my head hurts. Anyways, I always lose it when I need it the most... It has to be at the coffee machine, or somewhere around it. Ah, finally, there it is! Nah, that's my phone... But where is that goddamn brain?? I do need it right now to save the planet, which is actually quite important, enough messing around!

Quentin

en_GB

O! la lettre #110

NL110

Mais où ai-je bien pu l’égarer?

    Je comprends pas, ça fait deux heures que je le cherche… Quant est-ce que je l’ai utilisé pour la dernière fois? En tout cas je suis sûr que je l’avais avec moi ce matin, lorsque je discutais avec Jean-Bernard des études de son fils…
    En fait, ça y est, ça me revient, c’est pile-poil à la réunion sur le nouveau packaging éco-conçu que je l’ai perdu. Oui, c’est bien la que ça a commencé. C’est toujours pareil, dès qu’on me parle de developpement durable, d’environnement, d’effondrement de la bio-diversité, catastrophe imminente… Boooom, y’a un truc qui saute, je le perds et me retrouve dans une série B, avec schématiquement les gentils et les méchants, le bien contre les forces du mal. Le scenario n’est pas très subtil, voire binaire, mais c’est tellement plus simple, plus clair, plus rassurant, une sorte de thérapie Yaka-Fokon manichéenne pour agir contre les désordres actuels. Donc la réunion s’est bien passée, rapide et productive. Pour ce projet de nouveau pack il nous suffirait de choisir des matériaux naturels, compostables, eco-responsables, sans plastique, ou au moins des bio-plastiques éthiques (le nouveau bio-éthylène élaboré à partir de peaux de bananes sans OGM récoltées par un village auto-géré du Venezuela a l’air super cool), et hop, emballé c’est pesé, l’exercice d’éco-conception était terminé. Y’a même Bertrand qui a lancé l’idée chouette que nous pourrions utiliser du “cuir vegan” (sic) pour l’étiquette et le ruban de fermeture. Jacqueline et François, du marketing, trouvent l’idée super, c’est très “impactant  pour le storytelling” (sic), le “cuir vegan” c’est forcement quelque chose d’écolo, non? Jacqueline a d’ailleurs lu dernièrement un article dithyrambique sur un nouveau canapé en “cuir de déchets de pommes”, un éco-matériau apparement super efficace pour sauver la planète, et une “expérience client très positive-thinking” (sic).
    Mais voila, maintenant je doute… Est-ce que les solutions sont aussi simples, avons-nous pris la réelle mesure du problème, adopté la bonne approche? N’avons-nous pas été abusés par des termes valises vides de sens, et qui nécessiteraient au moins un peu de reflexion, de distanciation, de remise en cause? Oh la la, j’ai mal au crane. Bref, c’est au moment ou j’en ai besoin que je le paume, c’est toujours pareil… J’ai dû le laisser à la machine à café… Ah, le voila, enfin! Ah non, ça c’est mon téléphone… mais ou est-il donc, ce satané cerveau? J’en aurais pourtant vraiment besoin la maintenant, c’est quand même important de sauver la planète, faut pas se louper!

Quentin

fr_FR
en_GB fr_FR