O! Newsletter #111

NL111

See You in Milan?

Right now, over dinners between creative people, the ritual question is always the same when the conversation reaches a blank: 'See you in Milan. When will you be there?' Which brings us to two implicit basic premises:
1/ Travelling to Milan in April, it is not to treat yourself with a few farniente days in a nice industrial design capital, visiting the Duomo di Milano and enjoying gelati-al-limone basted with Spritz all the while listening to Paolo Conte, no! Milan in April is the Design Week and the Salone del Mobile, of course!
2/ You cannot escape from Milan when you are a self-respecting designer, it is in-es-ca-pa-ble. As certain as paraplegics will visit Lourdes, as financiers will visit Davos, as night-clubbers will meet in Berlin, as trees bud in spring when skirts get shorter and parade at cafe’s terraces and as certain as sheep start their seasonal move to summer pastures… designers DO Milan in April, of course!
Because you actually ‘do’ Milan as you ‘do’ the Everest… You need to physically prepare as for a crazy trek in order to cover all the events, all the ‘offs’, all the streets that matter (or not). It is a real hunt for invites to hype parties, gregarious meetings and socialite happenings, and a constant quest to find a place where to sleep that will not be an outrageously expensive 2.5 sq.meter closet. In short: Zeplacetobe for the idle designer elite.
   Yes, I know, we will once again suspected of snobism of doubtful worth, sprinkled with a touch of bitterness and cynicism… but no! No, matériO will not ‘do' Milan, however matériO will ‘do’Techtextil in Frankfurt, Zeplacetobe in April for anyone interested in innovation in the technical textile field. I am in the mood to banter, I think that next October during a swanky opening, I will throw a short and mysterious ‘See you in Düsseldorf?’ just for the pleasure of seeing the reactions. As ‘doing’ Düsseldorf in October implicitely means you are visiting the Große Messe Kunststoff, the global fair about polymers. This holiday spot is probably less glamorous, the saffron risotto there is definitely less tasty but the materials you find during the event are far more rich and inspiring for your future projects.

Quentin

en_GB
fr_FR en_GB

O! la lettre #111

NL111

On se voit à Milan?

Actuellement, dans les diners en ville entre créas, la question rituelle est toujours la même lorsqu’un blanc s’installe dans la conversation: On se voit à Milan, t’y vas quand? Donc deux postulats implicites derrière cette question:
1/ Aller à Milan en Avril, ce n’est pas s’offrir quelques jours de farniente dans une belle capitale industrielle pour visiter le Duomo di Milano et déguster des gelati-al-limone arrosées de Spritz en écoutant Paolo Conté, non! Milan en Avril, c’est la Design Week et le Salone del Mobile, forcement!
2/ On n’échappe pas à Milan lorsqu’on est un designer qui se respecte, c’est in-con-tour-nable. Non, aussi sûr que les paraplégiques se rendent à Lourdes, que les financiers vont à Davos, que les nightclubbers se retrouvent à Berlin, que les arbres bourgeonnent au printemps lorsque les robes raccourcissent à la terrasse des cafés et que les moutons entament leur transhumance annuelle dans les alpages, le créa “fait” Milan en avril, forcement!
Car on “fait” Milan, comme on fait l’Everest ou le gratin dauphinois à la pointe d’ail. Faire Milan, c’est se préparer physiquement pour un trek de forcené afin de voir toutes les expos, tous les off, toutes les rues qui comptent (ou pas), mais c’est en même temps une chasse aux invitations pour soirées branchouilles et happening mondains. C’est enfin une quête incessante pour trouver un endroit où dormir qui ne soit pas un cagibi de 2,5 m2 loué hors de prix. Bref, zeplacetoubi pour le gotha design désœuvré.
   Oui, je sais, on va encore nous soupçonner de snobisme de mauvais aloi, panaché d’une dose d’aigreur ou de cynisme… Mais non! Non, matériO ne “fera” pas Milan, matériO “fera” en revanche Frankfurt pour le salon Techtextil, zeplacetoubi en Avril pour qui s’intéresse à l’innovation dans le secteur des textiles techniques. Je suis d’humeur badine, je pense qu’en octobre prochain et à l’occasion d’un vernissage huppé, je lancerai à mon interlocuteur un laconique et énigmatique “On se voit à Düsseldorf?” rien que pour voir sa tête. Car faire Düsseldorf en octobre, c’est implicitement se rendre à la Große Messe Kunststoff, le rendez-vous mondial des polymères. Ce lieu de villégiature est sans doute moins glam, le risotto au safran y est certes moins bon, mais les matériaux dénichés tellement plus riches et inspirants pour vos futurs projets.

Quentin

fr_FR
en_GB fr_FR