O! newsletter #114

I post, therefore I am.

"Absorbed by light" is a sculpture imagined by artist Gali May Lucas which was presented last year at the Amsterdam Light Festival. A grim truth about our time, which shows under (actual) crude spotlights, what we all experience and/or see daily, in the street, the subway, at a coffee terrace or during a night out with friends. All is said there, our addiction to digital extended parts, isolation into delusional bubbles, without any direct connections with our fellow humans. We are mesmerized by our numerical avatars' lives, in a narcissistic vertigo, but it isn't Narcisse merely looking and admiring his reflection anymore, but his self-absorbed alter-ego, desperately waiting for positive feedback, in the form of "likes", "views", "hearts" and other nonsense reactions. No more real interactions, no more frank and honest discussions with our peers, but a dreadful and disgusting "two-headed ego". Social media has become acme, the modern product making up for our social, sentimental, relational, sensual, intellectual deficiencies, imposing themselves as the new ontological proof of the existence of "I" in the world, a pathetic reboot of the "cogito ergo sum" into an "I post, therefore I am" that is often nothing but vanity.
    Those ice-cold, petrified, virgin-white statues are in fact an allegory of the cowardly "communication" means which seems to have been adopted by humanity today... An odd paradox, that, while our planet is dangerously heating up, our world is cooling down, often forgetting the simple empathy. 
    What if, to sail up the river, we unplugged for a minute to go back to real life and exchange? Very humbly, matériO wishes to play its role in this hygienic act and invites you to its now legendary Saint-Nicholas gingerbread party, which will of course take place on the 6th of November (more information below). Come and visit its real showroom, have a conversation with the real people in it, (re)discover real materials, touch some really intriguing, real samples, and even enjoy a real homemade gingerbread, a real feast of the senses, and, even better, the ultimate snobism, in one of the rare "white zones" in Paris, some sort of a spatio-temporal ridge in which electromagnetic waves barely enter. What else could you ever ask for?

Quentin (cranky guy)

en_GB
fr_FR en_GB

O!, la lettre #114

Je post, donc je suis.

“Absorbed by light”, sculpture de l’artiste britannique Gali May Lucas, a été présentée l’année dernière à l’occasion du Light Festival d’Amsterdam. L’oeuvre est glaçante de vérité sur notre époque, montrant sous une lumière crue (c’est le cas de le dire) ce que nous vivons et/ou observons quotidiennement, dans la rue, le métro, à la terrasse d’un café ou lors d’une soirée entre amis. Tout est dit ici, notre dépendance à nos écrans, notre isolement dans des bulles nombrilistes factices, sans lien direct avec nos semblables. Nous sommes hypnotisés par la vie de nos avatars numériques, dans un vertige narcissique, mais ce n’est plus simplement Narcisse qui se mire et admire son reflet dans la rivière, mais son double egotique qui attend fébrilement un retour positif, sous forme de “likes”, de “vues”, de “coeurs et autres fariboles” de son reflet gonflé et travesti. Une scénarisation perpetuelle de nos vies, les discussions franches et honnêtes sont remplacées par un “Tout à l’ego” déconcertant et finalement assez nauséeux. Les médias sociaux sont devenu l’acmé, l’excroissance moderne compensant nos frilosités sociales, amoureuses, relationnelles, sensuelles, intellectuelles, ils s’érigent en nouvelle preuve ontologique de l’existence du moi sur Terre, une revisite pathétique du “cogito ergo sum” en un “je post donc je suis” qui n’est souvent que vacuité.
    Ces statues froides, figées, d’un blanc virginal, sont comme une allégorie du mode de “communication creuse” que l’humanité semble adopter aujourd’hui…. Curieux paradoxe, au moment ou la planète se réchauffe dangereusement, notre monde devient froid en oubliant souvent la simple empathie. 
    Et si, pour inverser un peu le cours des choses, nous nous décrochions un instant de nos écrans pour revenir à la vie réelle, et à l’échange? Très modestement, matériO souhaite apporter sa pierre à cet acte de salubrité publique et vous convie à son désormais classique Pain d’Epices de la Saint-Nicolas, le 6 décembre comme il se doit (cf. plus bas). Venez visiter son vrai showroom, discuter avec de vrais gens dedans, (re)découvrir de vrais matériaux, tripoter de vrais échantillons vraiment intrigants, et même déguster un vrai pain d’épices maison… une vraie farandole sensorielle, et qui plus est, snobisme ultime, dans une des rares “zones blanches” de Paris, une sorte de faille spatio-temporelle ou les ondes des réseaux passent très mal. Que demander de plus?

Quentin (vieux réac)

fr_FR
en_GB fr_FR